Universities in Australia for Masters

Masters in Australia


Australia is a great place to study abroad. It’s one of the international students’ most popular study destinations because of its high standards and quality education. 

There are many universities in Australia that offer various courses, including master’s into different fields such as science, medicine, engineering, the humanities, etc. Below are some of the top five universities in Australia that offer master’s degree programs:

University of Sydney

The University of Sydney is a publicly funded research organization in Sydney, Australia. It was founded in 1850, making it Australia’s first University. It was named one of the top universities in the world by rankings published by Times Higher Education and the Academic Ranking of World Universities(ARWU) from 2016 to 2019.

Along with numerous other campuses spread out over metropolitan Sydney, the main campus is situated on the North Shore of Sydney Harbour. In addition to its undergraduate programs, it has professional degrees through the law, medicine, and dentistry faculties. As of June 2015, there are more than 50 000 students at this University.

Quick Read: How to Study in the Top Universities in Australia

University of Queensland

Public research university The University of based in Brisbane, Australia. Founded in 1909 by the state parliament of Queensland to be the first University in Australia for young men and women, UQ has grown into one of the country’s largest universities.

masters course in Australia

The University offers courses in business, law, engineering, science, humanities, medicine (including veterinary science), social sciences, and environmental studies across three campuses: Gatton on the Darling Downs near Toowoomba; St Lucia near Brisbane City; Kelvin Grove on the city’s south side.

Australian National University

Australia’s capital city, Canberra, is home to the public research institution known as Australian National University (ANU). It was established in 1946 by an act of the Parliament of Australia to provide opportunities for postgraduate education and research at a national level so that Australia could fully benefit from its high-level research efforts. 

Quick Read: Top Reasons to Study in Australia: Universities, Cost & Stay Back Options

The University began as the Canberra University College, founded in 1929 as one of seven constitutional colleges of the then-Australian National University. The Australian National University is ranked number one in all areas among Australian universities and within the top 50 universities worldwide. According to Times Higher Education rankings, it has been named the best University for Masters in Australia.

Monash University

Monash University is a public research university based in Melbourne, Victoria. It was established in 1958 and is the second-largest University in Australia. Monash has two major campuses: Clayton and Caulfield, and several secondary campuses across Victoria. Monash also has several overseas campuses located around the world, such as Malaysia, South Africa, China, and Singapore.

Monash University is a member of Australia’s Group of Eight (Go8), a coalition of eight leading Australian universities that share similar aims and priorities for national research excellence; education; collaboration; enterprise innovation; global engagement, and student success. 

Quick Read: Best MBA Colleges in Australia: Top Universities, Courses, Intakes, Eligibility

The Go8 includes some of the most prominent and ancient universities in Australia, including ANU (Canberra), UWA (Perth), and QUT Brisbane) UTS Sydney) UNSW Sydney).

University of South Australia

  • A public research institution called the University of South Australia is located in the Australian territory of South Australia. Its main campus is at North Terrace, Adelaide.
  • Established in 1991 with the merger of three former South Australian institutions – the South Australian Institute of Technology, Flinders University, and the College of Advanced Education 
  • It was known as “UniSA” until 2014 when it was renamed to reflect its new status as a comprehensive university offering specialist and generalist degrees across all faculties, schools, and campuses.
Post graduation in Australia

The University also offers courses at affiliated institutions throughout Adelaide and surrounding regions, including: Flinders Medical Centre; Thebarton Campus; Mawson Lakes Campus; Mount Gambier Campus; Whyalla Campus; Port Augusta Campus; Ceduna Campus; Clare High School; and Kangaroo Island Community College (KICC).

Macquarie University

It was founded in 1964 and is the third-largest University in New South Wales. It also has ties with many high-profile businesses and organizations, including IBM, Google, Facebook, and PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).

Quick Read: Top postgraduate courses to study in Australia

Macquarie University’s campus is on the North Shore of Sydney Harbour, so students can easily access some of Australia’s most famous landmarks, such as Taronga Zoo, Manly Beach, and the Sydney Opera House.

Flinders University

In Adelaide, South Australia, there is a public university called Flinders University. As a branch of the Flinders University of South Australia, it was established in 1966 and gained full university status in 1969.

It has six campuses across South Australia: Bedford Park, Port Augusta, and Whyalla on the Eyre Peninsula; Mount Gambier on the Limestone Coast; Murray Bridge in the Riverland area; and Gawler at Northgate.

The University offers undergraduate degrees for domestic students and postgraduate degrees for international students in Australia.


In Australia, you can study a variety of fields and courses. Some universities offer postgraduate degrees in engineering, science, and medicine, and others have their specialties, such as arts and humanities or business studies.

Read More: Top 10 Australian Universities for International Students

SK Team

SK Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *